Loading Events « Back to Events

Barney Allis Plaza Technical Assistance Panel – March 28 & 29

Start:
March 29, 2018 @ 5:00 pm
End:
March 30, 2018 @ 6:00 pm
Venue:
KC Marriott Downtown
Address:
200 W 12th Street
Kansas City, MO 64105 United States
+ Google Map

Barney Allis Plaza Study

Panel meets March 28-29.  Public Presentation on March 29 @ 5:00.
KC Marriott Downtown 200 West 12th Street Kansas City, MO 64105
Free/Open to Public – REGISTER HERE.

Downtown Council has engaged ULI Kansas City to provide a Technical Assistance
Program to study the Barney Allis Plaza.

Background:

The Auditorium Parking Garage, owned by the City of Kansas City, is a three story
underground garage which opened in 1954. It is connected below street level to the
Municipal Auditorium Complex and three hotels. On the top of the garage is
Barney Allis Plaza which is a public space with trees and both grassy and concrete areas
and a fountain. The garage provides much needed parking spaces for area hotels
and events.

Questions to Panel:

  • What is the demand for open/green space at this location and how does Barney
    Allis Plaza fulfill the demand currently? What are some short and longer term
    enhancements to make BAP more desirable?
  • What is the parking demand for this area and how does Auditorium Plaza Garage parking fit into that demand?
  • If a new garage is warranted, how do we fund design, construction and operations of a new garage, while also
    optimizing and programming the open space above the structure at Barney Allis Plaza?

Co-Chairs:

Craig Scranton, BNIM | CScranton@bnim.com

Audrey Navarro, Clemons Real Estate | audrey@clemonsrealestate.com

Panelist:

Rob Gray – Hoerr Schaudt Landscape Architects | rgray@hoerrschaudt.com           

Jill McCarthy –  KCADC  | mccarthy@thinkkc.com

Kelley Gipple – Structural Engineering Associates  | kgipple@seassociates.com

Michael Collins – JE Dunn | mike.collins@jedunn.com

Kathryn Jones – Highline Partners | ko@highln.com

Triveece Penelton – Vireo | triveece@bevireo.com

Jacob Littrel –  Hufft Projects | jlittrell@hufft.com

Gib Kerr – Cushman Wakefield | gib.kerr@cushwake.com

 

 

iCal Import